Dandelions

“It’s okay to not know something”, Shay said. “That’s what makes us human.”

Dandelions
Dandelions

No matter what Mr. Philosopher Next Door thought, there were things I knew for sure: That I had been loved, once, and had loved back. That a person could find hope in the way a weed grew. That the sum of a man’s life was not where he wound up but in the details that brought him there.

That we made mistakes.

I closed my eyes, sick of the riddles, and to my surprise all I could see were dandelions – as if they had been painted on the fields of my imagination, a hundred thousand suns. And I remembered something else that makes us human: faith, the only weapon in our arsenal to battle doubt.

– Change of Heart, Jodi Picoult.

2 thoughts on “Dandelions

Leave a Reply

