The ninth letter..

ibhog,

A year ago I prostrated before God and asked for nothing. Yes. I only told Him that I loved Him. I remember this prayer because I’ve always asked things of Him, but this specific night, while my forehead was attached to a soft mat, wet with my tears, I only told God that I love him and nothing more.

Thing is, Ibrahim, that year was the toughest I’ve ever lived. I don’t know if God’s love is the same love we know and feel, but what I know is that I was broken, maybe to be put together again into another person. I never stopped praying to Him or needing His support, but I learned that love isn’t tantamount to having what you wish for when you do.

Am I right, ibhog?

N.

4 thoughts on “The ninth letter..

Leave a Reply

